List of President of India

List of President of India, According to Article 52 of the Indian Constitution, the 14th President of India is personally Shri Ram Nath Kovind. Article 74 (1) of the Constitution states that there will be a minister with the Prime Minister to assist and advise the President of India.

The Prime Minister is the leader of cabinet ministers. The Prime Minister has the main executive powers of the government while the President is the nominal head of the state.

According to Article 52 of the Constitution of India, the executive power of the President of India is vested in the President.

He is the constitutional head of the parliamentary system of government. He represents the nation but does not rule it. The real power rests with the Council of Ministers.

The President is elected by members of the legislatures of Delhi and Puducherry (added by the 70th Amendment Act) from both houses of Parliament, by members of elected colleges, by elected members of state legislatures. 1992).

The President is elected for five years but is eligible for immediate re-election and may serve in any number. According to Article 61, the President can be removed from office for the violation of the constitution before the end of his term by impeachment.

This is the list of all the 14 Presidents of India.

No. Name Tenure Remark
1. Dr. Rajendra Prasad 26 January 1950 to 12 May 1962 First President has the longest tenure (12 years)
2. S. Radhakrishnan 13 May 1962 to13 May 1967 He was the first President of South India. Teachers' Day is celebrated on 5 September to honor his birthday.
3. Dr. Zakir Hussain 13 May 1967 to 3 May 1969He was the first Muslim President India to have the shortest tenure. First President to die in the term.
4. Varahagiri Venkata Giri 3 May 1969 to 20 July 1969 The first acting president of India.

Mohammad Hidayatullah 20 July 1969 to 24 August 1969 He served as the Chief Justice of India and was the recipient of the Order of the British Empire.

Varahagiri Venkata Giri 24 August 1969  to 24 August 1974 Varahagiri Venkata Giri is the only person who has served as both the acting President and President of India.
5. Fakhruddin Ali Ahmed 24 August 1974 to 11 February 1977  Fakhruddin Ali Ahmed is the second Indian president to die in office.

Basappa Danappa Jatti 11 February 1977 to 25 July 1977 Basappa Danappa Jatti served as the Acting President of India on the death of Fakhruddin Ali Ahmed.
6. Neelam Sanjiva Reddy 25 July 1977 to 25 July 1982 The youngest President became the first President of 64 years who did not become Vice-President.
7. Giani Zail Singh 25 July 1982 to 25 July 1987 First Sikh President of India.
8. Ramaswamy Venkataraman 25 July to 1987    25 July 1992 He is the oldest President to become President (76 years).
9. Shankar Dayal Sharma 25 July 1992 to 25 July 1997 Sharma was the Chief Minister of Madhya Pradesh before becoming the President.
10. Kocheril Raman Narayanan 25 July 1997 to 25 July 2002 He was the first President of Kerala, and also the first Dalit President.
11. A. P. J. Abdul Kalam 25 July 2002 to 25 July 2007 A. P. J. Abdul Kalam was the first graduate / scientific President of India and the first Muslim President to complete his term.
12. Pratibha Patil 25 July 2007 to25 July 2012 Pratibha Patil was the first woman President of India.
13. Pranab Mukherjee  From 5 July 2012,            Incumbent He was the first President from West Bengal, Served as Foreign Minister, Minister of Defense and Deputy Chairman of Planning Commission.
14. Ram Nath Kovind 25 July 2017 Incumbent Ram Nath Kovind is the14th President of India

No comments:

Post a Comment